top of page

Announcing the Inaugural ISTAP President's Award Recipient

Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, APN, CWOCN

It is with great pleasure that we announce Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, APN, CWOCN as the recipient of the inaugural International Skin Tear Advisory Panel (ISTAP) President's Award for 2022. Sharon was fundamental in establishing ISTAP in 2010 alongside Kimberly LeBlanc, PhD, MN, NSWOC, WOCC(C) FCAN. She provided exceptional leadership in her role as the first President and subsequently Past President. Sharon paved the way for the vision, mission and values which provided the foundation for ISTAP as we know it today. She provided a voice for patients and pushed forward the agenda for advocacy with regards to a world without skin tears through her presentations and publications. Sharon has been an outstanding mentor to others and continues to inspire, support and enhance the work of ISTAP. Sharon is a master’s-prepared advanced practice nurse with more than 35 years of experience in skin and wound care, and nursing management. She is a well-known lecturer, consultant, author and educator on various nursing and wound care issues, she is co-editor of the textbook Wound Care Essentials: Practice Principles which is now in its 5th Edition. She has authored numerous book chapters and published more than 100 nursing articles. Sharon has been a peer reviewer for Advances in Skin & Wound Care and World Council of Enterostomal Therapy (WCET) journals and several international journals. Sharon served as the Director of the Annual Clinical Symposium on Skin & Wound Care hosted by Lippincott, William, and Wilkins for 25 years. She is a Past President and an alumnus of the National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Board. She was honoured in 2009 with the Distinguished Kosiak Award from the National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel (NPUAP). She served on the Board of Directors of the American Professional Wound Care Association; as well as being a Member of the World Council of Enterostomal Therapist and the Wound Ostomy & Continence Association. She was a member of the American Nurses Association and is a Fellow in the prestigious American Academy of Nursing. She served on the Rasmussen College of Nursing Advisory Board and Lewis University President's Council Many congratulations Sharon on behalf of all of the ISTAP Board Directors both past and present.

Samantha Holloway ISTAP President

72 views0 comments

The International Skin Tear Panel (ISTAP) Board of Directors is notifying you of important changes made to the ISTAP Bylaws. Review the Bylaw Amendments: Amendment 1 Current Bylaw Consolidated to Jul

bottom of page